La Casa de la Trinidad,
a boutique hotel in history

La Casa de la Trinidad is an historic, traditional hotel that symbolises Granada.

The establishment is located in a unique 19th century building. It was previously known as a hardware store in Granada.

The small but busy Plaza de la Trinidad, which is always green and happy, corresponds to what were the cloisters of the Trinitarios Calzados Convent (1517), which gave it its name.

The monastery was abandoned by its religious inhabitants around the year 1836 by governmental order (according to the controversial expropriation law on ecclesiastical properties and the expulsion of monasteris and convents by the liberal ministry of Hacienda, Mendizábal), and then, consequently, transformed into a building for public and civil use, in this case as the municipal tax office. It would continue with this role until 1889, when the building was finally pulled down.

In its place, the current square was built, centered around an elegant baroque fountain made from stone and marble (which conjures up images of the destroyed monastic cloisters). An urban space for many, it is simple but has its own beauty and charm. It provides a wonderful oasis of peace and tranquility in the city centre, maintained between traffic and bustling people and tourists at some cost.

You will often see young students chatting here while sitting on benches, enjoying a cold drink in a bar or, less often, absorbed in a book.

One of the square's extremes opens out onto one of Granada's most famous and important streets, at least in commercial terms. This street is filled day and night with shoppers but, although it may not initially appear so, it is a magical street...